Recommended Reading
Electric Literature
- Length
- 2,000 to 10,000 words
- Pay
- Not stated
- Fee
- Not stated
- Simultaneous
- Allowed
- Reprints
- Original only
What they accept
Recommended Reading is Electric Literature's weekly fiction magazine, accepting previously unpublished fiction between 2,000 and 10,000 words. Its current general submission period runs November 2 to November 8, 2026, or until a cap of 1,000 submissions is reached, with a stated response time of eight to ten months on its Submittable page, and stories previously rejected by Electric Literature may not be resubmitted. It pays $300 on acceptance; the guidelines do not name a currency for that amount, and no submission fee is stated.
- Resubmissions
- Not allowed
- AI policy
- Electric Literature does not accept work that was created or revised using generative AI in any category.
- Since
- 2009
- Best American Stories
- Pushcart Prize
- O. Henry Prize
- Whiting Literary Magazine Prize
- Readership
- 3,000,000
More like this
| Publication | Length | Pay | Closes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Story Unlikely Shares “previously” in its guidelines summary | Up to 5,000 words | Not stated | Closes 14 Jan 2027 |
| Andromeda Spaceways Magazine Shares “magazine” in its guidelines summary | Up to 10,000 words | 0.01 AUD per word | No closing date |
| Bayou Magazine Shares “magazine” in its guidelines summary | Up to 7,500 words | 150 USD flat | Closes 15 Dec 2026 |
| Burnline Magazine Shares “magazine” in its guidelines summary | 500 to 10,000 words | Unpaid | No closing date |
| Electric Literature Shares “recommended” in its guidelines summary | 2,000 to 10,000 words | 300.00 USD flat | Closes in 3 days May close early |
| Gulf Coast Shares “literature” in its guidelines summary | Up to 7,000 words | Not stated | Closes 1 Mar 2027 |