Fiction
Grain Magazine
Closes 15 Jun 2027 May close early
- Length
- Up to 3,500 words
- Pay
- Not stated
- Fee
- Reading fee 5.00 CAD
- Simultaneous
- Allowed
- Reprints
- Original only
What they accept
Grain, the Saskatchewan Writers' Guild's literary journal, reads fiction from September 15 to June 15: one work of up to 3,500 words, or up to three micro or flash pieces totalling 3,500 words. Work must be unpublished, simultaneous submissions are allowed with notification, and online submissions close for the month when a monthly Submittable cap is reached. Fiction is paid $50 per page in Canadian dollars to a maximum of $250 plus two copies, submitters living outside Canada pay a $5 CAD fee, and responses take six to eight months.
Literary
- AI policy
- All work must be original and human-generated from start to finish; Grain does not accept submissions written, developed, or assisted by AI tools such as ChatGPT.
More like this
| Publication | Length | Pay | Closes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alchemical Also publishes Literary | 1,000 to 5,000 words | Unpaid | No closing date |
| Bayou Magazine Also publishes Literary | Up to 7,500 words | 150 USD flat | Closes 15 Dec 2026 |
| Bellingham Review Also publishes Literary | Up to 4,000 words | Not stated | Closes 1 Dec 2026 |
| Beloit Fiction Journal Also publishes Literary | Up to 10,000 words | Not stated | Closes in 11 days |
| Bright Flash Literary Review Also publishes Literary | 50 to 1,500 words | Unpaid | No closing date |
| CutBank Also publishes Literary | Up to 8,500 words | 50 USD flat | Closes 1 Feb 2027 |