Fiction
The Arkansas International
Reading period not stated
- Length
- Up to 8,000 words
- Pay
- Not stated
- Fee
- Reading fee
- Simultaneous
- Allowed
- Reprints
- Original only
What they accept
The Arkansas International, published by the University of Arkansas Program in Creative Writing & Translation, accepts previously unpublished fiction, including works of literary translation, with prose submissions of less than 8,000 words; translated submissions must include the source text and a statement that English translation rights are available. Submission windows open twice a year and submissions are no longer free, though fee waivers are offered; beginning with issue #19 in Fall 2026, fiction contributors are paid $25 per 500-word page, capped at $200.
Literary
- AI policy
- We assume you are human and do not accept work produced by artificial intelligence (AI) generators or similar.
More like this
| Publication | Length | Pay | Closes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bayou Magazine Also publishes Literary | Up to 7,500 words | 150 USD flat | Closes 15 Dec 2026 |
| Bryant Literary Review Also publishes Literary | Up to 5,000 words | Not stated | Closes 1 Dec 2026 |
| CutBank Also publishes Literary | Up to 8,500 words | 50 USD flat | Closes 1 Feb 2027 |
| Gulf Coast Also publishes Literary | Up to 7,000 words | Not stated | Closes 1 Mar 2027 |
| Meniscus Also publishes Literary | Up to 3,000 words | Not stated | No closing date |
| Permafrost Magazine Also publishes Literary | Up to 8,000 words | Not stated | Closes 30 Apr 2027 |