Fiction
The Fourth River
Closed
- Length
- Up to 7,000 words
- Pay
- Unpaid
- Fee
- Reading fee
- Simultaneous
- Allowed
- Reprints
- Original only
What they accept
The Fourth River, published at Chatham University, considers prose of up to 7,000 words (most published pieces run 3,000 to 4,000 words) with an environmental focus. A $3 submission fee applies, simultaneous submissions are welcome, and only previously unpublished work is considered; the journal does not pay, though print contributors are offered a copy. The fall digital-issue window runs November 15 to January 15 and the spring print window July 15 to September 15.
Literary
- AI policy
- We do not consider work planned, created or revised with the use of generative AI.
More like this
| Publication | Length | Pay | Closes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bellingham Review Also publishes Literary | Up to 4,000 words | Not stated | Closes 1 Dec 2026 |
| Beloit Fiction Journal Also publishes Literary | Up to 10,000 words | Not stated | Closes in 11 days |
| CutBank Also publishes Literary | Up to 8,500 words | 50 USD flat | Closes 1 Feb 2027 |
| Gulf Coast Also publishes Literary | Up to 7,000 words | Not stated | Closes 1 Mar 2027 |
| Milk Tooth Also publishes Literary | Up to 3,000 words | Not stated | Closes 31 Jan 2027 |
| Moko Magazine Also publishes Literary | Up to 5,000 words | Unpaid | No closing date |