Skip to content

Fiction

The London Magazine

Closes 30 Nov 2026 May close early
Length
Up to 4,000 words
Pay
Not stated
Fee
No fee
Simultaneous
Allowed
Reprints
Original only

What they accept

The London Magazine takes one short story of up to 4,000 words per submission — no flash fiction, and it does not normally publish genre fiction — free during six one-month windows each year including November 1–30, and for £3.50 outside them. It publishes only original material not previously published anywhere, accepts simultaneous submissions with notification, and advises submitting early in a free month before the portal's free quota is hit. It pays a fee, amount unstated, for work published in print and nothing for pieces published on its website, and asks writers to allow up to four months for review.

Literary
AI policy
No AI-use policy stated in the guidelines checked.

Compare a piece

Check a piece against these criteria, save publications, and track where you sent it.

Create account Sign in

More like this

Publication Length Pay Closes
Aftertouch Magazine

Also publishes Literary

Up to 10,000 words Unpaid
No closing date
Alchemical

Also publishes Literary

1,000 to 5,000 words Unpaid
No closing date
Bayou Magazine

Also publishes Literary

Up to 7,500 words 150 USD flat
Closes 15 Dec 2026
Beloit Fiction Journal

Also publishes Literary

Up to 10,000 words Not stated
Closes in 11 days
Bright Flash Literary Review

Also publishes Literary

50 to 1,500 words Unpaid
No closing date
Gone Lawn

Also publishes Literary

Up to 5,000 words Unpaid
No closing date