Fiction
The Southern Review
Closes 1 Jan 2027
- Length
- No word limit
- Pay
- Not stated
- Fee
- Reading fee 4.00 USD
- Simultaneous
- Allowed
- Reprints
- Original only
What they accept
The Southern Review reads fiction from September 1 through January 1 and rarely publishes prose over 10,000 words, though longer work is considered. It charges a $4 service fee and pays $75 for the first printed page plus $25 per additional page, up to $300.
- Languages
- English
- AI policy
- No AI-use policy stated in the guidelines checked.
More like this
| Publication | Length | Pay | Closes |
|---|---|---|---|
| AGNI Also flash-friendly (under 1,500 words) | No word limit | Not stated | Closes 15 Dec 2026 |
| Analog Science Fiction and Fact Also flash-friendly (under 1,500 words) | Up to 20,000 words | 0.08 USD per word | No closing date |
| Asimov's Science Fiction Also flash-friendly (under 1,500 words) | 1,000 to 20,000 words | 0.08 USD per word | No closing date |
| Clarkesworld Magazine Also flash-friendly (under 1,500 words) | 1,000 to 22,000 words | Not stated | No closing date |
| Long River Review Also flash-friendly (under 1,500 words) | Up to 4,000 words | Contributor copy | Closes 15 Dec 2026 |
| The Florida Review Also flash-friendly (under 1,500 words) | Up to 9,000 words | Contributor copy | No closing date |