Fiction
Witness
Reading period not stated
- Length
- Not stated
- Pay
- Not stated
- Fee
- Not stated
- Simultaneous
- Allowed
- Reprints
- Original only
What they accept
Witness is the literary journal of the Black Mountain Institute at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, publishing a spring print issue and a fall/winter online issue. Its portal states that it pays contributors $150 for prose and $75 for poetry, suggests a $3 reading fee for a general submission, allows simultaneous submissions, and does not accept previously published work; graduates and current students affiliated with UNLV are asked to wait two years after graduation before submitting. No fiction word limit or current fiction window is stated on the portal.
Literary
- AI policy
- No AI-use policy stated in the guidelines checked.
More like this
| Publication | Length | Pay | Closes |
|---|---|---|---|
| CutBank Also publishes Literary | Up to 8,500 words | 50 USD flat | Closes 1 Feb 2027 |
| Hayden's Ferry Review Also publishes Literary | Not stated | Not stated | Closes 30 Nov 2026 May close early |
| Kestrel Also publishes Literary | Up to 5,000 words | Contributor copy | No closing date |
| midnight & indigo Also publishes Literary | 1,500 to 7,000 words | 0.07 USD per word | Closes 31 Jan 2027 May close early |
| New Orleans Review Also publishes Literary | Up to 5,000 words | Not stated | No closing date |
| South Carolina Review Also publishes Literary | Not stated | Contributor copy | Closes 15 Dec 2026 |