Short Story Prize
Afritondo
- Length
- 3,000 to 5,000 words
- Pay
- Not stated
- Fee
- Not stated
- Simultaneous
- Not stated
- Reprints
- Original only
What they accept
The Afritondo Short Story Prize is open to citizens or nationals of an African country, writers with a parent who is a national of an African country, and writers of Black ethnicity or a Black minority population anywhere in the world. Stories run 3,000 to 5,000 words, must reflect the cycle's theme, and must not have been previously published or shortlisted for another prize; one entry per writer is judged anonymously through a Dapple submission link, and longlisted stories enter an anthology. The official terms page for the 2026 cycle states no deadline, theme, or prize amount, and no later cycle is announced on the site.
- Query after
- 90 days
- AI policy
- No AI-use policy stated in the guidelines checked.
More like this
| Publication | Length | Pay | Closes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Boulevard Shares “open” in its guidelines summary | Up to 8,000 words | Not stated | Closes 31 Dec 2026 |
| Callaloo Shares “open” in its guidelines summary | Up to 10,000 words | Not stated | Closes 1 May 2027 |
| Common House Magazine Shares “open” in its guidelines summary | Up to 3,000 words | Unpaid | Closes 30 Nov 2026 |
| Literary Mama Shares “open” in its guidelines summary | Up to 5,000 words | Unpaid | No closing date |
| midnight & indigo Shares “writer” in its guidelines summary | 1,500 to 7,000 words | 0.07 USD per word | Closes 31 Jan 2027 May close early |
| Nenta Literary Journal Shares “open” in its guidelines summary | Up to 5,000 words | 150.00 GHS flat | Closes in 10 days |