CRAFT 2026 Short Fiction Prize
CRAFT
Closes in 10 days
- Length
- 1,000 to 5,000 words
- Pay
- Not stated
- Fee
- Reading fee
- Simultaneous
- Allowed
- Reprints
- Original only
What they accept
The CRAFT 2026 Short Fiction Prize, judged by Jess Row, accepts short fiction of 1,000 to 5,000 words from September 15 to November 15, 2026, with a $20 entry fee per submission; the guidelines do not name a currency for the fee or prizes. Prizes are $2,500 for first place, $500 for second, and $300 for third, each with online publication. Previously unpublished work only; multiple and simultaneous submissions are allowed, and anonymous submissions are not required.
Literary
- Languages
- English
- Anonymous reading
- Not required
- AI policy
- AI-generated or -assisted submissions will be automatically disqualified. This includes using LLMs (ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, or similar) to translate your work.
- Since
- 2017
- Best Small Fictions
More like this
| Publication | Length | Pay | Closes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Isele Magazine Also publishes Literary | Up to 5,000 words | Not stated | Closes in 2 days |
| The Antigonish Review Also publishes Literary | 500 to 3,000 words | Not stated | Closes 30 Nov 2026 |
| Mānoa Also publishes Literary | 1,500 to 5,000 words | Not stated | Closes 1 Dec 2026 May close early |
| CRAFT Also publishes Literary | 1,000 to 6,000 words | Not stated | No closing date |
| Bellingham Review Also publishes Literary | Up to 4,000 words | Not stated | Closes 1 Dec 2026 |
| CutBank Also publishes Literary | Up to 8,500 words | 50 USD flat | Closes 1 Feb 2027 |