Fiction
Five Points
No closing date May close early
- Length
- Up to 7,500 words
- Pay
- Not stated
- Fee
- Reading fee
- Simultaneous
- Allowed
- Reprints
- Original only
What they accept
Five Points, Georgia State University's literary journal, opened for fiction on September 1, 2026, with no closing date stated on its guidelines page, and warns the window may close early if necessary. It takes one prose work per submission of up to 7,500 words — it gravitates toward stories of at least 4,500 words and routes shorter work to its flash category — previously unpublished only, with simultaneous submissions permitted. Responses range from four weeks to four months or more, and any use of generative AI in the work is barred.
Literary
- Anonymous reading
- Not required
- Query after
- 150 days
- AI policy
- Five Points does not accept work that uses generative AI during any point in the creation and writing process, including prompts, outlines, descriptions, plot, titles, or AI translations. All work must be completely self- and human-authored.
More like this
| Publication | Length | Pay | Closes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bellingham Review Also publishes Literary | Up to 4,000 words | Not stated | Closes 1 Dec 2026 |
| CutBank Also publishes Literary | Up to 8,500 words | 50 USD flat | Closes 1 Feb 2027 |
| Kestrel Also publishes Literary | Up to 5,000 words | Contributor copy | No closing date |
| Soundings East Also publishes Literary | Up to 3,500 words | Contributor copy | Closes 1 Feb 2027 |
| Willow Springs Also publishes Literary | No word limit | Not stated | Closes 31 May 2027 |
| Bayou Magazine Also publishes Literary | Up to 7,500 words | 150 USD flat | Closes 15 Dec 2026 |