Fiction
Harpur Palate
Closed
- Length
- Up to 4,500 words
- Pay
- Not stated
- Fee
- Not stated
- Simultaneous
- Allowed
- Reprints
- Not stated
What they accept
Harpur Palate, published at Binghamton University, takes fiction of no more than 4,500 words, including up to three flash pieces of 1,000 words or fewer per submission, and prefers scene-driven stories that are strange and off-kilter. General submissions run January 1 to March 15 and July 1 to October 15 or until a cap of 200 submissions is met, manuscripts must have all identifying information removed, and no payment for general submissions is stated in the guidelines checked.
Literary
- Anonymous reading
- Remove your name from the manuscript
- AI policy
- No AI-use policy stated in the guidelines checked.
More like this
| Publication | Length | Pay | Closes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bayou Magazine Also publishes Literary | Up to 7,500 words | 150 USD flat | Closes 15 Dec 2026 |
| Beloit Fiction Journal Also publishes Literary | Up to 10,000 words | Not stated | Closes in 11 days |
| Bright Flash Literary Review Also publishes Literary | 50 to 1,500 words | Unpaid | No closing date |
| CutBank Also publishes Literary | Up to 8,500 words | 50 USD flat | Closes 1 Feb 2027 |
| Gone Lawn Also publishes Literary | Up to 5,000 words | Unpaid | No closing date |
| Grain Magazine Also publishes Literary | Up to 3,500 words | Not stated | Closes 15 Jun 2027 May close early |