Fiction
New Edge Sword & Sorcery
Closed
- Length
- 4,000 to 6,000 words
- Pay
- Not stated
- Fee
- Not stated
- Simultaneous
- Allowed
- Reprints
- Original only
What they accept
New Edge Sword & Sorcery publishes sword and sorcery short fiction and does not recommend genre blending or standardized fantasy elements such as elves, orcs, dragons, or dwarves. Its posted guidelines take original stories of 4,000 to 6,000 words at 4 cents per word, possibly more through crowdfunding stretch goals, and allow simultaneous submissions. Submissions are currently closed and will re-open on August 1, 2027.
Other / not listed
- AI policy
- Use of AI, aka LLMs, for submissions will result in instant rejection and lifelong blacklisting.
More like this
| Publication | Length | Pay | Closes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dark Yonder Shares “publish” in its guidelines summary | Up to 5,000 words | 50.00 USD flat | Closes 31 Jan 2027 |
| StarShipSofa Shares “doe” in its guidelines summary | 3,000 to 7,000 words | 50.00 USD flat | No closing date |
| The London Magazine Shares “publish” in its guidelines summary | Up to 4,000 words | Not stated | Closes 30 Nov 2026 May close early |
| Radon Journal Shares “publish” in its guidelines summary | Up to 5,000 words | 0.025 USD per word | Closes 31 Dec 2026 |
| Clarkesworld Magazine Shares “publish” in its guidelines summary | 1,000 to 22,000 words | Not stated | No closing date |
| Samovar Shares “publish” in its guidelines summary | Not stated | 0.08 USD per word | No closing date |