Fiction
New England Review
Closed
- Length
- Up to 20,000 words
- Pay
- Not stated
- Fee
- Not stated
- Simultaneous
- Allowed
- Reprints
- Original only
What they accept
New England Review publishes fiction of up to 20,000 words and pays $20 per page, with a $50 minimum. Its fall 2026 fiction reading period closed early at its submission cap; the next period runs March 1 to May 1, 2027, and a small submission fee (amount not stated) is charged.
- Languages
- English
- Resubmissions
- Not allowed
- Query after
- 84 days
- AI policy
- New England Review requires submitters to affirm that their work is their own and was not produced with AI tools, though spell-check and grammar-check tools are permitted.
More like this
| Publication | Length | Pay | Closes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Analog Science Fiction and Fact Also flash-friendly (under 1,500 words) | Up to 20,000 words | 0.08 USD per word | No closing date |
| Another Chicago Magazine Also flash-friendly (under 1,500 words) | Up to 5,000 words | Not stated | Closes 1 Dec 2026 |
| Asimov's Science Fiction Also flash-friendly (under 1,500 words) | 1,000 to 20,000 words | 0.08 USD per word | No closing date |
| Long River Review Also flash-friendly (under 1,500 words) | Up to 4,000 words | Contributor copy | Closes 15 Dec 2026 |
| Ploughshares Also flash-friendly (under 1,500 words) | Up to 6,500 words | Not stated | Closes in 11 days |
| The Florida Review Also flash-friendly (under 1,500 words) | Up to 9,000 words | Contributor copy | No closing date |