Fiction
Ploughshares
Closes in 11 days
- Length
- Up to 6,500 words
- Pay
- Not stated
- Fee
- Reading fee 3.75 USD
- Simultaneous
- Allowed
- Reprints
- Original only
What they accept
Ploughshares reads prose of up to 6,500 words during its June 1 to November 15 reading period and pays $45 per printed page, with a $90 minimum and $450 maximum. Online submissions carry a $3.75 service fee, waived for subscribers.
- Languages
- English
- Anonymous reading
- Not required
- AI policy
- Ploughshares does not consider manuscripts that use generative AI; submitted work must be human-authored, though spell-check, grammar-check, and accessibility dictation tools are permitted.
More like this
| Publication | Length | Pay | Closes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Copper Nickel Also flash-friendly (under 1,500 words) | No word limit | Not stated | Closes 1 Dec 2026 May close early |
| The Georgia Review Also flash-friendly (under 1,500 words) | No word limit | Not stated | Closes 15 May 2027 |
| The Hudson Review Also flash-friendly (under 1,500 words) | Up to 10,000 words | Not stated | Closes 30 Nov 2026 |
| The Missouri Review Also flash-friendly (under 1,500 words) | No word limit | Not stated | No closing date |
| AGNI Also flash-friendly (under 1,500 words) | No word limit | Not stated | Closes 15 Dec 2026 |
| Analog Science Fiction and Fact Also flash-friendly (under 1,500 words) | Up to 20,000 words | 0.08 USD per word | No closing date |