Short-Shorts
Passages North
- Length
- Up to 1,000 words
- Pay
- Contributor copy
- Fee
- Optional tip
- Simultaneous
- Allowed
- Reprints
- Not stated
What they accept
Passages North's short-short category, the venue's flash-length call, accepts up to three short-shorts (fiction, nonfiction, prose poems, or hybrids) in one document, each beneath 1,000 words, and is usually open September 1 through April 15. Contributors receive a copy of their issue and no monetary payment; regular submissions are free, with an optional paid Rocket Fuel category mentioned for when the free monthly submission limit is reached, and the category may close when that limit is hit. Simultaneous submissions are accepted.
- AI policy
- No AI-use policy stated in the guidelines checked.
- Since
- 1979
More like this
| Publication | Length | Pay | Closes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cimarron Review Shares “length” in its guidelines summary | Not stated | Unpaid | No closing date |
| Pithead Chapel Shares “call” in its guidelines summary | Up to 4,000 words | Unpaid | No closing date May close early |
| The Baltimore Review Shares “call” in its guidelines summary | Up to 5,000 words | 75 USD flat | Closes 30 Nov 2026 |
| The Common Shares “up” in its guidelines summary | Up to 10,000 words | Not stated | Closes 1 Dec 2026 |
| The Greensboro Review Shares “north” in its guidelines summary | Up to 7,500 words | Not stated | Closes 1 Jan 2027 |
| CRAFT Shares “category” in its guidelines summary | Up to 1,000 words | 100.00 USD flat | No closing date |