Fiction
The Common
Closes 1 Dec 2026
- Length
- Up to 10,000 words
- Pay
- Not stated
- Fee
- Reading fee
- Simultaneous
- Allowed
- Reprints
- Original only
What they accept
The Common reads fiction in two periods, March 1–June 1 and September 1–December 1, taking one prose piece of up to 10,000 words — or three flash pieces — that embodies a strong sense of place; subscribers may submit free year-round. Submissions cost $3, must be previously unpublished and carry no identifying information, and simultaneous submissions are allowed with immediate withdrawal on acceptance elsewhere. Accepted prose is paid a $200 honorarium per piece, and typical reading time for fiction is around twelve months.
Literary
- Languages
- English
- Anonymous reading
- Remove your name from the manuscript
- AI policy
- The Common does not accept work that has been written, edited, or translated with AI assistance.
More like this
| Publication | Length | Pay | Closes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bellingham Review Also publishes Literary | Up to 4,000 words | Not stated | Closes 1 Dec 2026 |
| Beloit Fiction Journal Also publishes Literary | Up to 10,000 words | Not stated | Closes in 11 days |
| Grain Magazine Also publishes Literary | Up to 3,500 words | Not stated | Closes 15 Jun 2027 May close early |
| Moko Magazine Also publishes Literary | Up to 5,000 words | Unpaid | No closing date |
| Permafrost Magazine Also publishes Literary | Up to 8,000 words | Not stated | Closes 30 Apr 2027 |
| Plenitude Magazine Also publishes Literary | Up to 5,000 words | 125.00 CAD flat | Closes 30 Nov 2026 May close early |