Fiction
Phoebe
Closed
- Length
- Not stated
- Pay
- Not stated
- Fee
- Not stated
- Simultaneous
- Allowed
- Reprints
- Original only
What they accept
Phoebe, the journal of literature and art at George Mason University, publishes a winter print issue (submissions August 15 to October 15) and a spring contest issue (January 15 to March 20), with submissions through Submittable only. It sets no strict prose word limit, though work over 4,000 words needs to be extraordinary, and pays $30 per accepted piece plus a print copy. The journal aims to respond within 30 days after a period closes and asks writers to inquire if they have heard nothing 60 days after it closes.
Literary
- Query after
- 60 days
- AI policy
- Phoebe does not accept AI-generated writing or visual art.
More like this
| Publication | Length | Pay | Closes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bellingham Review Also publishes Literary | Up to 4,000 words | Not stated | Closes 1 Dec 2026 |
| Chiricú Journal Also publishes Literary | Up to 7,000 words | Not stated | No closing date |
| CutBank Also publishes Literary | Up to 8,500 words | 50 USD flat | Closes 1 Feb 2027 |
| Gulf Coast Also publishes Literary | Up to 7,000 words | Not stated | Closes 1 Mar 2027 |
| Hayden's Ferry Review Also publishes Literary | Not stated | Not stated | Closes 30 Nov 2026 May close early |
| Southern Indiana Review Also publishes Literary | Not stated | Not stated | Closes 15 Dec 2026 |