Fiction
Westerly
Closed
- Length
- Up to 3,500 words
- Pay
- Not stated
- Fee
- Not stated
- Simultaneous
- Not allowed
- Reprints
- Original only
What they accept
Westerly, published twice a year by the University of Western Australia, takes one short story at a time of up to 3,500 words, read under deidentified review, and work must not have been published previously or be under consideration elsewhere. Creative submissions are stated on the page as currently closed for 2025, to re-open in early 2026. Payment rates stated are $500 for print prose and $250 for online publication, with no currency named on the page.
Literary
- Anonymous reading
- Remove your name from the manuscript
- AI policy
- No AI-use policy stated in the guidelines checked.
More like this
| Publication | Length | Pay | Closes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bayou Magazine Also publishes Literary | Up to 7,500 words | 150 USD flat | Closes 15 Dec 2026 |
| Beloit Fiction Journal Also publishes Literary | Up to 10,000 words | Not stated | Closes in 11 days |
| Bright Flash Literary Review Also publishes Literary | 50 to 1,500 words | Unpaid | No closing date |
| CutBank Also publishes Literary | Up to 8,500 words | 50 USD flat | Closes 1 Feb 2027 |
| Grain Magazine Also publishes Literary | Up to 3,500 words | Not stated | Closes 15 Jun 2027 May close early |
| Gulf Coast Also publishes Literary | Up to 7,000 words | Not stated | Closes 1 Mar 2027 |