Darkside: One Last Ride
Sparkwell Publishing
Closes 15 Dec 2026
- Length
- 2,000 to 3,500 words
- Pay
- Not stated
- Fee
- Not stated
- Simultaneous
- Not stated
- Reprints
- Original only
What they accept
Darkside: One Last Ride is the first volume in Sparkwell Publishing's Darkside series: middle-grade supernatural horror about the dark side of carnivals and fairs, for readers ages 8 to 12. It takes original stories of 2,000 to 3,500 words from authors 18 and older, up to two per author, through December 15, 2026, and pays $75 per accepted story plus a contributor copy; the page does not name a currency.
Other / not listedHorror
- AI policy
- No AI-generated work is accepted; the guidelines state, 'ABSOLUTELY NO AI SLOP. Kids deserve better than that.'
More like this
| Publication | Length | Pay | Closes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alchemical Also publishes Horror | 1,000 to 5,000 words | Unpaid | No closing date |
| Flame Tree Publishing Also publishes Horror | 2,000 to 4,000 words | 0.08 USD per word | Closes in 10 days |
| Andromeda Spaceways Magazine Also publishes Horror | Up to 10,000 words | 0.01 AUD per word | No closing date |
| Macabre Magazine Also publishes Horror | 500 to 5,000 words | Unpaid | No closing date |
| The Dark Magazine Also publishes Horror | 2,000 to 6,000 words | 0.06 USD per word | No closing date |
| Flame Tree Publishing Also publishes Horror | 2,000 to 8,000 words | 0.08 USD per word | Closes in 10 days |