Fiction
The Malahat Review
Closed
- Length
- Up to 8,000 words
- Pay
- Not stated
- Fee
- Reading fee 7.00 CAD
- Simultaneous
- Allowed
- Reprints
- Original only
What they accept
The Malahat Review reads fiction in separate annual windows: January 1–June 30 for Canadian writers and February 14–28, or until its cap is reached, for international writers, who pay a CAD $7 fee. Canadians may submit one story of up to 8,000 words and international writers one of up to 4,000, or up to three pieces of 750 words or fewer; work must be unpublished and simultaneous submissions are allowed with notice. Fiction is paid CAD $70 per published page, plus a one-year subscription and two copies, and responses take up to nine months.
Literary
- Anonymous reading
- Not required
- AI policy
- The Malahat Review's editorial boards are not interested in AI-generated work, such as machine-written work generated by a prompt; submitters are asked whether AI was used in creating the work and, if so, to explain the extent, nature, and artistic purpose.
More like this
| Publication | Length | Pay | Closes |
|---|---|---|---|
| The Antigonish Review Also publishes Literary | 500 to 3,000 words | Not stated | Closes 30 Nov 2026 |
| Grain Magazine Also publishes Literary | Up to 3,500 words | Not stated | Closes 15 Jun 2027 May close early |
| Southern Indiana Review Also publishes Literary | Not stated | Not stated | Closes 15 Dec 2026 |
| The Fiddlehead Also publishes Literary | Up to 6,000 words | Not stated | No closing date |
| Bright Flash Literary Review Also publishes Literary | 50 to 1,500 words | Unpaid | No closing date |
| Bryant Literary Review Also publishes Literary | Up to 5,000 words | Not stated | Closes 1 Dec 2026 |